Judges and Venues announced for SEIB Racehorse to Riding Horse Championship 2017

Judges and Venues announced for SEIB Racehorse to Riding Horse Championship 2017

SEIB Insurance Brokers are pleased to announce the judges for the 2017 SEIB Racehorse to Riding Horse show championship series and the Horse of the Year Show (HOYS) final. Chris Bartram-Lawton will judge conformation, and Rachel Thomas will judge the ride at HOYS.

The SEIB Racehorse to Riding Horse series has become one of the most popular show classes of the season, with qualifiers regularly attracting a large entry. Now in its eleventh year, the finals have witnessed the transformation of many ex-racehorses, some with an illustrious racing career behind them and others finding their true vocation, but all enjoying a successful new career in the show ring.

Held in conjunction with the Search for a Star classes, the SEIB Racehorse to Riding Horse Show Championship encourages the re-education of ex-racehorses, re-training them and preparing them for a new career as show horses. The series runs six qualifiers throughout the country, with winners earning a coveted HOYS ticket. The classes are open to both amateur and professional producers and horses must have a legitimate racing record, but no registration with ANY organisation is required. The winner of the HOYS final has the honour of going forward to the Supreme Horse of the Year judging. This is a true reflection of the high quality, manners and performance of the ex-racehorses coming into the show ring and a valuable demonstration of the versatility of the thoroughbred to a wide audience.

Leading equine Insurance brokers, SEIB Insurance Brokers provide cover for horses, horse boxes, yards and much more. “This class gets ever more popular and the standard of ex-racehorses coming forward is exceptional. It is very special that the winner can go into the Supreme at HOYS. It is an important showcase for the thoroughbred and allows these wonderful horses to show just how well they can be retrained for a second career in the show ring”, said Nicolina MacKenzie, Marketing Manager at SEIB Insurance Brokers.

The 2017 SEIB Racehorse to Riding Horse judges and qualifiers will be:

23rd April 2017

Osbaldeston Riding Centre, Blackburn, Lancs, BB2 7LZ

Judges: Jean Wright (conformation) Sara Leatherbarrow (ride)

21st May 2017

Stretcholt Equestrian Centre, Bridgwater, Somerset TA6 4SR

Judges: Jane Cooper (conformation) Sarah J Coward (ride)

18th June 2017

The College Equestrian Centre, Church Road, Keysoe, Bedford, MK44 2JP

Judges: Philip Hilton (conformation) Terry Chalmers (ride)

16th July 2017

Bury Farm Equestrian Centre, Slapton, Bucks, LU7 9BT

Judges: Jennifer Williams (conformation) Rory Gilsenan (ride)

6th August 2017

Vale View Equestrian Centre, Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire, LE14 3LX

Judges: Paul Cook (conformation) Jill Wormall (ride)

3rd September 2017 (Racehorse to Riding Horse Qualifier Only)

Land Rover Burghley Horse Trials, Stamford, Lincs, PE9 2LH

Judges: Liz Morley (conformation) Jane Hubbard (ride)

Finals, Horse of The Year Show 4th – 8th October 2017

Birmingham NEC

Judges: Chris Bartram-Lawton (conformation) Rachel Thomas (ride)

The SEIB Racehorse to Riding Horse competition rules, comprehensive information, a downloadable schedule and entry form will be available from www.racehorse2ridinghorse.co.uk by the end of February. Find us at www.facebook.com/SEIB.LTD and www.facebook.com/SEIB.R2R

Share this post


Don’t miss a thing. Sign up to our newsletter to receive the latest on competitions, news and events.

By clicking submit below I understand that I will receive marketing communications from Grandstand Media in accordance with our privacy policy.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.