

Kellythorpes Leading Breeder & Leading Sire Awards Series at Horse of the Year Show

The Horse of the Year Show award series is an established part of the show on Thursday evening, now in their eleventh year the Kellythorpe Leading Breeder and Kellythorpe Leading Sire awards celebrate some of the country's most esteemed and successful horses and ponies within the showing world.

The awards provide an opportunity to reward the fantastic success of the animals bred by a person or stud in this country or elsewhere, as well as progeny on the ground, using a points system for all results in Horse of the Year Show qualifiers throughout the season.

The Leeman Family together with Grandstand Media, held a fabulous awards ceremony yesterday evening at Horse of the Year Show. Hosted by Beth Simons, the glamourous event provided the perfect celebration rewarding the success of the horses/ponies who have played their part in the showing Championships that we see today at this year's event.

The winners with the highest points were awarded the Kellythorpe Leading Breeder and the Kellythorpe Leading Sire of the Year award for their relevant type/breed. The evening concluded with the revealing of the overall Leading Breeder of the Year and Leading Sire of the Year, where we saw the awards presented this evening by Lisha Leeman of the Kellythorpes Stud. The Kelythorpes Leading Breeder of the Year accolade went to Sandy Anderson of the Thistledown Stud, collecting the award on their behalf was Hayley Morrow, and the Kellythorpes Leading Sire of the Year Award went to Cusop Dimension, with owners Deborah Porter accepting this notable accolade.

The awards series which celebrates the importance of the breeders and owners behind the showing industry would not be possible without the generosity of the sponsors, Richard and Lisha Leeman. Together with the wider Leeman family, they have provided continued support for the HOYS Showing Awards Series, and they passionately champion showing and the breeding of horses and ponies.

The 2023 winners are:

Section	Breeder	Prefix	
COLOURED	JANET HINDLEY	WARDS PLACE	
HUNTER	BRENDAN CORCORAN	TWINSHOCK	
HUNTER PONY	MESDAMES J & V STEPHENS	ANNANDALE	
SHOW HORSE	MARTIN COSGROVE	CHANTILLY	
SHOW PONY	MRS E MANSFIELD	ROTHERWOOD	
CONNEMARA	MR SEAN FLAHERTY	INVERIN	
DALES	MRS J PENNELL	NIPNA	
DARTMOOR	B SIMCOX	COPPINSHILL	

Kellythorpe Leading Breeder of the Year Awards

EXMOOR	MRS J WEBB	BLACKTHORN
FELL	MRS I POTTER	GREENHOLME
HIGHLAND	ANNE MITCHELL	DUNEDIN
NEW FOREST	MR & MRS ALEX HUMBLE	LOVELYHILL
SHETLAND	MRS VIVIEN HAMPTON	BRIAR
WELSH A	MR SANDY ANDERSON	THISTLEDOWN
WELSH B	MR H.S & MRS Y DAVIES	CADLANVALLEY
WELSH C	MRS M A JONES	MENAI
WELSH D	MR & MRS L.E. BIGLEY	LLANARTH
ARABS	HUSTED ARABIANS DENMARK	HUSTED ARABIANS DENMARK
MINIATURE	LEONIE WROE	RIBBONS

Kellythorpe Leading Sire of the Year Awards

Section	Sire	Stud/Owner
COLOURED	BOSTON	
HUNTER	OBOS QUALITY	SHE EQUINE
HUNTER PONY	SOUDLEY TALIESIN	ANNANDALE STUD
SHOW HORSE	KILVINGTON SCOUNDREL	
SHOW PONY	CUSOP DIMENSION	WHITELEAZE & WYCROFT STUD
CONNEMARA	EASTLANDS HARLEYBRAE	
DARTMOOR	SPRINGWATER HAPPY DAYS	SPRINGWATER STUD
DALES	CARROCK BILLY BOY	TARBARL STUD
EXMOOR	BLACKTHORN SEA POACHER	BLACKTHORN STUD
FELL	HELTONDALE BONZO BOY	TOWNEND STUD
HIGHLAND	DUNEDIN MARKSMAN	DUNEDIN STUD
NEW FOREST	MOORTOWN NOBBY	
SHETLAND	BRIAR PICCOLO	BRIAR SHETLAND PONY STUD
WELSH A	BLACKHILL PICALO	LACY STUD
WELSH B	JANPETE TOM THUMB	JANPETE WELSH PONIES
WELSH C	WYKEN ROB ROY	WYKEN STUD

WELSH D	PENLANGRUG DEIO	LLANARTH
ARAB	EMERALD J	JADEM ARABIANS
MINATURE	SCOTT CREEK MONARCH RED GRAFFITI	RIBBONS STUD

ENDS

For more information on Horse of the Year Show 2023, please contact Horse of the Year Show Press Office, Grandstand Media Ltd. Tel: 02476 858205. Email: press@hoys.co.uk