October 08, 2016 at 11:31 AM


After a closely fought second round leaving East Kent Hunt as the winners in the daytime performance, the evening performance saw Monmouthshire pick up a win in the third heat. The team was closely followed by Oakley Hunt West Pony Club while East Kent Hunt was placed third. The winning team of Ben Hopkins, Sam Hopkins, Emma Lockyer, Emily Adam Norton, Killian Creed and Sophia Lockyear, will be looking to make it two years running after Monmouthshire picked up the coveted trophy last year.


Trained by Iain Hopkins, who himself rode at Horse of the Year Show in 1986 for his Pony Club, the team will continue with the competition into the final few rounds. The fourth round will take place at 14:45 in the Andrews Bowen International Arena and continuing on in the evening for the fifth heat at 20:05. The penultimate and ultimate rounds of competition fall on the Sunday 9th of October at 14:55 and 19:55. With the competition hotting up it is bound to be a nail biting final on Sunday ahead of the HOYS Finale. Tickets are still available, for more information call the Box Office on 0844 5818282.


Category: Blog