Horse of the Year Show launched their innovative HOYS Awards Series in 2012 with competitors and breeders alike applauding the unique recognition of their hard work and achivements.

Designed to award the successes of horses and ponies during the outdoor qualifying season, competitors can gain points towards the HOYS Awards Series for the most consistent animal, the Kellythorpes Leading Breeder Awards and the Kellythorpes Leading Sire Awards, when placed fifth and above in an eligible class at a qualifying show.

These points are added to the relevant award league tables and totalled up in September, the end of the outdoor season. Presentations for this year’s series will be made at Horse of the Year Show, which returns to Birmingham’s NEC from 4th – 8th October 2017.

How does the award series work?

The awards are made possible due to the Grandstand Online Entries System’s stored information, which is collected from every Horse of the Year Show qualifier. They are the only ones in Britain based on accurate data collected for every eligible animal.

With details of each horse and pony competing in qualifiers stored on the system, points are awarded each time a horse is placed at a qualifier during the season, as outlined below.

The points scale for the Consistency Awards is as follows:

1st place – 5 points
2nd place – 4 points
3rd place – 3 points
4th place – 2 points
5th place – 1 point

In the  Awards for Consistency, the following sections are not eligible for award points: Shire horse, Retrained Racehorse, Harness Horse and Pony, and Cuddy In-hand.

Introduced in 2015 was the HOYS Showing Wild Card. All horses and ponies that top their relevant ridden section of the HOYS Awards Series, but who have not already qualified for HOYS, will have the chance to be awarded a Wild Card entry. There will be one Wild Card across all of the ridden pony classes and one Wild Card across all of the ridden horse classes.

In order to decide without prejudice which horse and pony are to be awarded the Wild Cards, only the best five results of each horse and pony, earned throughout the 2017 season, will be considered eligible for contention. The calculation will be the same system used to decide the overall awards (five points for a win, counting back to one point for 5th place).

The horse and pony with the highest number of points will then be awarded the Wild Card place. This will allow them to enter HOYS in the same manner as any other competitor, and with the same entitlements. In the event of a tie on points, there will be a live draw hosted on the HOYS website, to decide which horse or pony is to be allocated the Wild Card place.

The introduction of this system will ensure that a spread of high quality horses and ponies, who have demonstrated talent and consistency throughout the season, maximise their chances to compete at the “The World’s Most Famous Horse Show”.

The points scale for the Kellythorpes Leading Breeder and Kellythropes Leading Sire Awards is as follows:

1st place – 10 points
2nd place – 5 points
3rd place – 3 points
4th place – 2 points
5th place – 1 point

A list of the top contenders for each series will be published at least once during the outdoor season. These will be posted within the results section of the Horse of the Year Show website.

The Kellythorpes Leading Breeder and Kellythorpes Leading Sire Awards cover a total of 19 sections in each. With 10 points given for first place, down to one point for fifth place, the scale enables the awards to recognise those whose stock or progeny qualify for Horse of the Year Show, as well as those whose stock or progeny are consistently placed in qualifiers. For instance, in the case of the Kellythorpes Leading Breeder awards, there will be more scope to recognise both a breeder with a number of high quality ponies that are placed in numerous qualifiers, and a smaller breeder who has bred one pony that subsequently goes on to qualify for HOYS.

The HOYS Awards Series have a total of 54 awards available.

Find out more

For more information about the awards, email or call the Grandstand Equestrian Department on 02476 858 205.

A full set of terms and conditions for these awards can be found here